Pictured above: Gravesite of Riley Bostwick.
A total of 116 graves have been documented on this small rise southwest of town. The first grave is dated 1870 and the most recent 1985, but the yard reflects the heaviest years of mining activity in the district, 1875-1885; 1902-1912; and 1931-1953. Many graves are enclosed in wooden picket fences, each with a unique design. The conservation of these fascinating fences and markers is a long difficult process because the original material is often lying on the ground. Workers have dissembled and cleaned the salvaged materials and, when necessary, milling replacements.