Monastery of St. Gertrude
St. Gertrude’s Convent and chapel are three-story buildings on a raised foundation in the Romanesque revival style. Constructed of blue porphyry stone, quarried nearby, the structure consists of a 50’ x 127’ basilican chapel with a convent wing attached to the south side. The chapel as a pair of 97’ high corner towers on the east from. The rusticated towers have louvered belfry openings and are capped with domed roof in the Bavarian style. Construction began in 1919 and it was dedicated in 1924. It stands as the only example of traditional Benedictine architecture in the state. It is in the National Register of Historic Places.
The Historical Museum at St. Gertrude
The Historical Museum at St. Gertrude is one of the oldest continuously operating museums in the Northwest. The 7200 square foot museum is located on the grounds of the Monastery of St. Gertrude and is owned and operated by the Idaho Corporation of the Benedictine Sisters. The museum has artifacts of some of the more colorful historical personalities in north central Idaho including Winifred Rhoades Emmanuel, Polly Bemis, Frances Wisner (Zaunmiller) and Buckskin Bill. Winifred Rhoades grew up a few miles from the museum and was a world-class organist in the days of vaudeville and silent movies. Polly Bemis was a Chinese slave who lived at Warren, Idaho during the gold mining days and later on the Salmon River with her husband Charlie Bemis. Sylvan Hart, known as “Buckskin Bill,” came to the Salmon River country and lived a subsistence lifestyle along the river.